The famous student landlady of Leuven


The "Kotmadam", the Flemish name for a landlady who let student rooms, is a statue on the old market square of the city Leuven.

The statue is made by "Luc De Blick" and was inaugurated on May, 16, 1985. It was a gift from the VVV, the Tourist Office organisation of Flanders to the city. The inauguration more than twenty years ago was attended by "Maria Swerts", the then oldest student landlady of Leuven and also the godmother of the statue.

Picture by Harry Fabel


Despite the amusing nature of the landlady sitting on a bench and holding a coffee pot, the statue initially evoked mixed feelings among the students. One of the things was that the figure depicted did not correspond to the typical image of the landlady they had, old and obese. On the contrary, the "kotmadam" on the "Oude Markt" square is a youthful and attractive lady.

However, over the years the statue became an eye catcher and many people have already taken a seat next to her for the perfect selfie of family portrait with this famous figure from the world praised student city Leuven.

Picture by Harry Fabel

You can find the statue on this address: Oude Markt, Leuven.

The Mill On The Hill In Tessenderlo


Already in 1301 a mill was mentioned on this location in the town of Tessenderlo. In 1336 Count Louis IV van Loon donated the mill to the Abbot of Averbode, who sold it again after only a few years. Over the passing years, the mill fell into disrepair and was a first time restored in 1590. In 1606 the mill was destroyed by a heavy storm, to be restored a second time in 1608.

Picture by Harry Fabel
The standard, the small foot where the mill was built on was renewed in 1728, and the stake iron and spindle followed in 1751. It took an till 1934 to build a completely closed structure under the mill. This was done by Emiel Luyten, after whom the mill was called after the modernization “The Luyten Mill”. He also installed an oat crush and applied streamlined blades which were later again removed.


Picture by Harry Fabel

Emiel's son Georges sold the mill in 1981 to the municipality of Tessenderlo. The foundation “Molenvrienden” or "Friends Of The Mill" was founded and the mill was completely restored to be inaugurated in 1991. Since then, the mill has been operating regularly. Near the mill is a natural garden and a small chapel. Also the nearby house is the millers is now part of the foundation and is used as a cultural meeting center.

Picture by Harry Fabel

You can find the mill at this address: Molenstraat 6-16, Tessenderlo, Belgium.


The Dynasty Palace In Brussels


The Dynasty Palace is located at the foot of the Mont des Arts park in Brussels. It was built as part of the world exhibition in 1958, also called 'Expo 58' The building fits into a global urban plan by the architects Jules Ghobert and Maurice Houyoux for the layout of a square between the Royal Palace and the lower city. The Dynasty Palace functioned as a reception room for official ceremonies during 'Expo 58', but remained largely unused in the decades that followed; only sporadically it is used for conferences, events and exhibitions.

Picture by Pixabay

In 1964 the Dynasty Palace was provided with a carillon. A large golden wall clock adorns the rear fa├žade, with twelve figures from Belgian history and folk culture, 24 clocks and a bronze figure that hits the hour. The carillon and the chimes were thoroughly renovated in 2015.

Picture by Pixabay
The Dynasty Palace is located at the foot of the Mont des Arts, opposite the Royal Library, next to the central station of Horta and Brunfaut.