The castle of Brasschaat
The history of castle domain Brasschaat originated in the 18th century, when the original building, the "Helhoeve" a farm, was converted into a court of pleasance. "Armand Reusens", Mayor of Brasschaat in 1872 , built a new and beautiful castle in French neoclassical style. He had acquired the estate from his father and his predecessor "Honoré Guyot". Mayor Reusens also enlarged the surrounding domain and made it into a public park with garden.
After his death, the estate went to his nephew "Albert Octave 't Serclaes de Wommersom". In 1906, the property was sold to a specially made company to preserve the castle and the grounds for the future generations. One of the shareholders of the company, "Eduard Thys" lived in the castle until 1914, the start of the First World War.
In 1923 the company sold the castle to "Rose Gremmingen Anne", the widow of "Georges Born" a rich merchant. In 1949 the castle and grounds with nearly 170 hectares were purchased by the community of Brasschaat. Since 1978, the domain is managed by an organization called "Forest and Green" to preserve the grounds as a public park. The castle itself was transformed into a restaurant.
Today the neoclassical castle and park of Brasschaat are a unique setting for family celebrations, corporate events or weddings surrounded by a beautiful park. You can find the castle and park at this address: Gemeentepark 5, Brasschaat.